Migori senatorial by-elections updates

Ochillo Ayako
Ochillo Ayako

Migori senatorial by-elections are under way with Low voter turnout experienced at the polling stations.

Five candidates cleared by the Independent electoral and boundaries commission, IEBC for the race include Ochillo Ayako (ODM), Oketch Eddy (People’s Part), Mr Jobando, Solomon Hodo Rugaria (People's Democratic Party), Samwel Otieno (independent) and Dickson Ogolla (independent).

Earlie on, ODM candidate Dr Ochillo Ayako casted his vote at st Marks Tom Mboya polling station.

IEBC officials maintain that they have been maintain the challenges at the stations.

Commissioner Abdi Guliye warn the public that it is too early to quantify the turnout.

"You can only make accurate judgements of turn out from 3pm," Mr Guliye said.

The commission attributes the low voter turnout to Monday being a work day.

"May be it is because it is a work day. Scores of people may have gone to their farms as it is planting season while others may have reported to their work places. Very few voters are coming," said Mr Zachary Boke, a deputy presiding officer at Igena Primary School.

Migori senatorial seat fell vacant following the death of Mr Ben Oluoch Okello, who succumbed to throat cancer.

The county has about 388,000 registered voters.

See also: Migori by-elections: IEBC release the results

Related Stories

More Stories from News