Liverpool Champions of England

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool manager

The 30-year-old wait for Liverpool is finally over. Klopp's side won the league last in 1990 and its been a long wait but the crown is finally theirs.

Liverpool won against crystal palace on Wednesday night hence they needed only two points to be champions.

All the players, fans and all the staffs at Liverpool had their eyes at Stamford Bridge in last night clash between second placed Manchester City and Chelsea.

A loss for city will surely give Liverpool the trophy with seven games to spare.

It was a must win for Manchester city if they intended to keep the title race going, at least mathematically speaking.

Chelsea on the other hand are in the race for the champion league spot and were not willing to lose points as this would reduce their chances.

The blues played total football with counter attacks against Manchester city. They won 2-1 against Pep's side.

Pulisic scored the first goal of the match in the first half giving the blues the much needed lead after miscommunication between city's defender Mendy and Gundogon.

Belgium international Kevin De Bruyne equalized in the second half with a set piece which left Chelsea keeper diving in the thin hair missing the ball which landed at the back of the net.

The game was quite entertaining after the equalizer as both teams tried to score the winner.

Sterling hit the post while Pulisic shot was saved on the goal line by Walker.

Wilian scored the finisher in the 77th minute after Fernadinho's handball in the goal line.

City were reduced to 10 men as Fernadinho was sent off following VAR check on the deliberate handball.

This win gave Liverpool the trophy.

Liverpool are the earliest league winners of the English Premier league with seven matches still remaining.

See also: Antonio Conte warn Chelsea to sign defensive duo from Juventus

Related Stories

More Stories from Sports