New Chairman of the Sports Dispute Tribunal appointed –Kenya

Lawyer John Ohaga. Image|Courtesy

Chief Justice David Maraga has re-appointed Veteran Lawyer John Ohaga as the Chairman of the sports Disputes Tribunal.

Mr. Ohaga will serve in the docket for further five years.

The lawyer was first sworn in 2014 by the then CJ Willy Mutunga to the nine-member tribunal.

The nine members of the tribunal include Elynah Sifuna, Jane Onyango, David Kiplagat, Gabriel Ouko, Mary Nyokabi, Peter Ochieng, GMT Ottieno and Robert Asembo and th chair.

Ohaga, a specialist in disputes resolution and litigation, will be deputised by Sifuna, a veteran journalist at the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation.

In his first speech in, Ohaga assured Kenyans to be fair in resolving disputes relating to sports organisations.

“Sports is only second to love. The job is a challenge but we are up to it. My members are aware of what is expected of us and we shall work without fear of favour,” Ohaga said in 2014.

See also: Kiriako Tobiko reveals why he delayed to prosecute IEBC officials involved in election malpractices

Related Stories

More Stories from Sports